About the Program

The Association for Northwestern University Women (ANUW) Mentoring Program is an annual, formal, professional development program for women staff at Northwestern University. It provides ANUW members an opportunity to interact and learn from one another in a one-on-one mentoring partnership. Mentors and mentees submit online applications and are matched based a variety of characteristics including: areas of expertise, experience, and personal and career interests. Participants benefit from advice and insight and have the opportunity to create unique and enduring professional relationships with Northwestern colleagues.

Once admitted to the program, participants encouraged to meet once a month during the course of the program. However, participants are encouraged to meet and communicate above and beyond these minimums as personal schedules allow. Mentees are the initiators of communication in regards to reaching out to their mentor to schedule meeting times. To provide a quality experience for mentees and mentors, the ANUW Mentoring Program offers a series of activities and events, informational resources, and additional guidance throughout the course of the program. 

Purpose Statement

The purpose of the ANUW Mentoring Program is to enhance personal and professional development among women staff through mutual, positive, one-on-one mentoring relationships.

Program Goals

  • To create cross-institutional networking.
  • To strengthen work/life balance.
  • To share experiences.
  • To enhance skills.

Program History

In November 2011 the first mentoring committee gathered to explore the question "What does mentoring mean to ANUW?" This first mentoring committee was essentially a think tank. Five months later, the mentoring ‘think tank’ proposed a model for mentoring to the ANUW board for the ANUW membership. In May 2011, the ANUW board approved the mentoring proposal. The mentoring committee became part of the ANUW board and a key ANUW initiative for the 2012-2013 year. The current mentoring committee, the mentoring implementation committee, further developed the documents and processes in the original mentoring proposal.

This mentoring program would not be here today if it was not for the ANUW 2011-2012 president, Beth Clifford Smith. Beth brought together the original mentoring committee which started this amazing mentoring journey. From November 2011 to March 2012 the original committee poured over programs, qualities, and facts of existing mentoring programs. A special thank you to all the members of this committee for creating the proposal that laid the foundation for everything the program is today. The original mentoring committee members were: Ila Allen, Karen Allen, Sheri Carsello, Holly Erickson, Ellen Feldman, Daina Fernandez, Gail Higgins, Carol Michelini, and Sherry Minton.

With the mentoring proposal approved by the 2011-2012 ANUW board, the mentoring committee officially became part of the ANUW board structure. This allowed the mentoring committee to begin again with the focus moving away from creation to the more detailed tasks of implementation. For this phase of the program, Sherry Minton and Holly Erickson (both part of the original think tank committee) teamed up to be co-chairs of the implementation mentoring committee. From August 2012 continuing through today, the mentoring implementation committee manages and updates the ANUW mentoring program based on the ANUW mentoring model. Thank you to all the members of this committee for tirelessly working through processes and procedures that help the program run successfully. The implementation mentoring committee members were: Karen Allen, Holly Erickson, Daina Fernandez, Gail Higgins, Sherry Minton, Amanda Stasinski, and Toni Montgomery